State Counseling Boards

Alabama

Alabama Board of Examiners in Counseling

Florence Hemphill
Executive Director
950 22nd St N Ste 765
Birmingham, AL 35203-5305
(800) 822-3307
(205) 458-8716
(205) 458-8718 (fax)
florence.hemphill@abec.alabama.gov

Top

Alaska

Alaska Board of Professional Counselors Division of Occupational Licensing

Ms. Eleanor Vinson
Licensing Examiner
PO Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806
(907) 465-2551
(907) 465-2974 (Fax)
eleanor.vinson@alaska.gov

Top

Arizona

Arizona Board of Behavioral Health Examiners

Tobi Zavala
 Executive Director
3443 N Central Ave Ste 1700
Phoenix, AZ 85012
(602) 542-1617
(602) 364-0890 (Fax)
 tobi.zavala@azbbhe.us
information@azbbhe.us

Top

Arkansas

Arkansas Board of Examiners in Counseling

Michael Loos
Executive Director
101 E Capitol, Suite 104
Little Rock, AR 72201
(870) 901-7055
(870) 234-1842 (Fax)
michael.loos@arkansas.gov

 

Top

California

Board of Behavioral Sciences

1625 North Market Blvd., Suite 200
Sacramento, CA 95834
BBSWebmaster@dca.ca.gov
916-574-7830

California Coalition for Counselor Licensure

P.O. Box 6493, Ventura, CA 93006-6493
Dean Porter, Executive Director
info@caccl.org

Top

Colorado

State Board of Licensed Professional Counselor Examiners

Cathy Rodriguez
1560 Broadway Ste 1350
Denver, CO 80202-5146
(303) 894-7770
(303) 894-7764 (Fax)
cathys.rodriguez@state.co.us

Top

Connecticut

Dept of Public Health – State of Connecticut

Judith Bailey
410 Capitol Ave – MS # 12APP
PO Box 340308
Hartford, CT 06134-0308
(860) 509-7603
(860) 509-8457 (Fax)
judith.bailey@ct.gov

Top

Delaware

Board of Professional Counseling

Mr. Timothy Oswell
861 Silver Lake Blvd
Canon Bldg Ste 203
Dover, DE 19904
(302) 744-4500
(302) 739-2711 (Fax)
timothy.oswell@state.de.us
customerservice.dpr@state.de.us

Top

District of Columbia

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

Robin Y. Jenkins
Executive Director
District of Columbia Department of Health
899 N Capitol Street NE 2nd Floor
Washington, DC 20002
(202) 442-8336
robin.jenkins2@dc.gov

Top

Florida

Board of Clinical Social Work Marriage and Family Therapy and Mental Health Counseling

Robin McKenzie
Program Administrator
4052 Bald Cypress Way
Bin # C-08
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3258
(850) 488-0595
(805) 921-5389 (Fax)
robin_mckenzie@doh.state.fl.us
mqa_491@doh.state.fl.us

Top

Georgia

Professional Licensing Board Examination Development and Testing Unit

Brig Zimmerman
 Executive Director
237 Coliseum Dr
Macon, GA 31217-3858
(478) 207-1484
(478) 207-1496 (Fax)
 smstembridge@sos.ga.gov

Top

Guam

Department of Public Health & Social Services

The Guam Board of Allied Health Examiners
PO Box 2816
Agana, GU 96910
(671) 734-7295
(671) 734-2066 (Fax)

Top

Hawaii

Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs – OVL - Mental Health Counselor Program

Lynn Bhanot
Executive Officer
PO Box 3469
Honolulu, HI 96801-3469
(808) 586-3000
(808) 568-2874 (Fax)
counselor@dcca.hawaii.gov

Top

Idaho

Idaho State Licensing Board of Professional Counselors and Marriage & Family Therapists

Ms. Deborah Sexton
Board Secretary
PO Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720
(208) 334-3233
(208) 334-3945 (Fax)
dsexton@ibol.idaho.gov
cou@ibol.idaho.gov

Top

Illinois

Department of Financial & Professional Regulation Division of Professional Regulation

Ms. Cheryl Foxx
Staff Liaison
320 W Washington St 3rd Flr
Springfield, IL 62786
(217) 782-0458
(217) 782-7645 (Fax)
http://www.idfpr.com/profs/ProfCounselor.asp

Top

Indiana

IN Social Work Marriage & Family Therapist & Mental Health Counselor Board Health Professions Bureau

Ms. Valerie Jones
Board Director
402 W Washington St Rm W072
Indianapolis, IN 46204-2298
(317) 234-2064
(317) 233-4236 (Fax)
vjones@pla.in.gov
pla5@pla.in.gov

Top

Iowa

Iowa Board of Behavioral Science Examiners IA Dept of Public Health

Ms. Judith Manning
Board Executive
Lucas State Office Bldg 5th Flr
321 E. 12th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319
(515) 281-4422
(515) 281-3121 (Fax)
jmanning@idph.iowa.gov

Top

Kansas

Behavioral Sciences Regulatory Board

Max Foster
Executive Director
700 SW Harrison Street, Suite 420
Topeka, KS 66603-3929
(785) 296-3240
(785) 296-3112 (Fax)
Max.Foster@bsrb.state.ks.us

Top

Kentucky

Kentucky Board of Licensed Professional Counselors

Diana Jarboe, Board Administrator
PO Box 1360
Frankfort, KY 40602-1360
(502) 564-3296, X227
(502) 564-4818 (Fax)
Diana.Jarboe@ky.gov
karenl.lockett@ky.gov

Top

Louisiana

Licensed Professional Counselors Board of Examiners

Ms. Mary Alice Olsan
Executive Director
8631 Summa Ave
Baton Rouge, LA 70809-3678
(225) 765-2515
(225) 765-2514 (Fax)
lpcboard@eatel.net

Top

Maine

Maine Board of Counseling Professionals

Ms. Colleen Eugley
Board Clerk
Licensure State House Station #35
Augusta, ME 04333
(207) 624-8674
(207) 624-8637 (Fax)
colleen.a.eugley@maine.gov

Top

Maryland

Maryland Board of Professional Counselors and Therapists

Ms. Tracey DeShields
Executive Director
Maryland Board of Professional Counselors and Therapists
4201 Patterson Ave
Baltimore, MD 21215-2299
(410) 764-4732
(410) 358-1610 (Fax)
Tracey.DeShields@maryland.gov

Top

Massachusetts

Board Allied Mental Health & Human Services Professions

Clinton Dick
Executive Director
1000 Washington Street, Suite 710
Boston, MA 02118
(617) 727-5970
(617) 727-2197 (Fax)
susan.e.coco@state.ma.us
patricia.m.bresline@state.ma.us

Top

Michigan

Michigan Board of Counseling The Office of Health Svcs

Norene Lind, Executive Officer and Board Member
 PO Box 30670
611 W Ottawa
Lansing, MI 48909
(517) 335-1341
(517) 373-2179 (Fax)
 Lindn@michigan.gov
BHCS-BoardSupport@Michigan.gov

 

Top

Minnesota

Minnesota Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy

Ms. Kari Rechtzigel
Executive Director
2829 University Ave SE Ste 210
Minneapolis, MN 55414-3293
(612) 617-2178
(800) 627-3529 TTY
(612) 617-2187 (Fax)
kari.rechtzigel@state.mn.us
lori.strom@state.mn.us
bbht.board@state.mn.us

Top

Mississippi

Mississippi State Board of Examiners for Licensed Professional Counselors

Ms. Lee Ann Mordecai
Executive Director
239 N Lamar Street, Suite 402
Jackson, MS 39201
(601) 359-1010
info@lpc.ms.gov

Top

Missouri

Division of Professional Registration Committee for Professional Counselors

Ms. Loree Kessler
Executive Director
3605 Missouri Blvd
PO Box 1335
Jefferson City, MO 65102
(573) 751-0018
(573) 751-0735 (Fax)
profcounselor@pr.mo.gov  or loree.kessler@pr.mo.gov

Top

Montana

Board of Social Work Examiners & Professional Counselors Dept of Labor & Industry

Ms. Cyndi Reichenbach
Executive Officer
301 South Park 4th Flr
PO Box 200513
Helena, MT 59620-0513
(406) 841-2392
(406) 841- 2305 (Fax)
dlibsdswpc@mt.gov

Top

Nebraska

Nebraska Board of Examiners in Mental Health Practice

Nancy Herdman
Program Specialist
PO Box 94986
Lincoln, NE 68509-4986
(402) 471-4905
(402) 471-3577 (Fax)
 nancy.herdman@nebraska.gov

 

Top

Nevada

Board of Examiners for Marriage and Family Therapists and Clinical Professional Counselors

Raymond Smith, Sr.
Executive Director
PO Box 370130
Las Vegas NV 89134-0130
(702) 486-7388
(702) 486-7258 (Fax)
numftbd@mftbd.nv.gov

Top

New Hampshire

New Hampshire Board of Mental Health Practice

Ms. Peggy Lynch
117 Pleasant Street – Dolloff Building
Concord, NH 03301
(603) 271-6762
(800) 735-2954 TDD
(603) 271-3950 (Fax)
bdmhp@dhhs.state.nh.us
mlynch@dhhs.state.nh.us

Top

New Jersey

New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs State Board of Marriage & Family Therapy Examiners Professional Counselor Examiners Committee

Milagros Collazo, Executive Director
New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs; State Board of Marriage and Family Therapy Examiners; Counselors Examiners Committee
124 Halsey Street 6th Floor Newark, NJ 07102
(973) 504-6582
(973) 648-3536 (Fax)
www.state.nj.us/lps/ca/medical/procounsel.htm

Top

New Mexico

New Mexico Therapy Practice Board Regulation & Licensing Dept

Ms. Eva Baca
2550 Cerrillos Rd
PO Box 25101
Santa Fe, NM 87505-5101
(505) 476-4610
(505) 476-4633 (Fax)
Eva.Bacca@state.nm.us
counselingboard@state.nm.us

Top

New York

State Board for Mental Health Practitioners State Education Department Office of the Professions

Dr. David Hamilton
Executive Secretary
89 Washington Ave 2nd Floor East
Albany, NY 12234-1000
(518) 474-3817
(518) 486-2981 (Fax)
DHamilto@MAIL.NYSED.GOV
mhpbd@mail.nysed.gov

Top

North Carolina

North Carolina Board of Licensed Professional Counselors

Ms. Katrina Brent
Administrator
PO Box 77819
Greensboro, NC 27417
(844) 622-3572
(336) 217-6007
brent@ncblpc.org

Top

North Dakota

North Dakota Board of Counselor Examiners

Ms. Marge Ellefson
Executive Secretary
2112 10th Ave SE
Mandan, ND 58554
(701) 667-5969
(701) 667-5969 (Fax)
ndbce@btinet.net

Top

Ohio

Ohio Counselor, Social Worker, & Marriage and Family Therapist Board

Brian Carnahan
Executive Director
50 W Broad St Ste 1075
Columbus, OH 43215-5919
(614) 752-5161
(614) 728-7790 (Fax)
cswmft.info@cswb.ohio.us

 

Top

Oklahoma

Licensed Professional Counselors Advisory Board Oklahoma State Dept of Health

Eric Ashmore
Executive Director
3815 N. Santa Fe, Suite 110
Oklahoma City, OK 73118
Phone: (405) 522-3696
Fax: (405) 522-3691

eric.ashmore@bbhl.ok.gov

Top

Oregon

Oregon Board of Licensed Professional Counselors & Therapists

Charles J. Hill
 Executive Director
3218 Pringle Rd SE #250
Salem, OR 97302-6312
(503) 378-5499
 Charles.j.hill@state.or.us

Top

Pennsylvania

State Board of Social Workers Marriage and Family Therapists and Professional Counselors

Ms. Sandra Matter
Board Administrator
PO Box 2649
Harrisburg, PA 17105
(717) 783-1389
(717) 787-7769 (Fax)
samatter@state.pa.us
ra-socialwork@state.pa.us
st-socialwork@state.pa.us

Top

Puerto Rico

Puerto Rico Board of Examiners of Professional Counselors

Ms. Yudelka Gomez
Administrative Assistant
PO Box 10200
San Juan, PR 00908-0200
(787) 725-8161
(787) 725-7903 (Fax)
ygomez@salud.gov.pr

Top

Rhode Island

Board of Mental Health Counselors/Marriage & Family Therapists RI Dept of Health Professions Regulation

Arlene Hartwell
 3 Capitol Hill
Providence, RI 02908-5097
(401) 222-2828
(401) 222-1272 (Fax)
Arlene.Hartwell@health.ri.gov

 

Top

South Carolina

South Carolina Dept. of Labor Licensing Regulations Div Professional & Occupational Licensing

Ms. Patti Glenn
Board Administrator
PO Box 11329
Columbia, SC 29211-1329
(803) 896-4658
(803) 896-4719 (Fax)
glennp@llr.sc.gov

Top

South Dakota

South Dakota Board of Examiners for Counselors and Marriage & Family Therapists

Ms. Joyce Vos
Executive Secretary
PO Box 340
1351 N. Harrison Ave.
Pierre, SD 57501
(605) 331-2927
(605) 331-2043 (Fax)
sdbce.msp@midconetwork.com

Top

Tennessee

Tennessee State Board of Licensed Professional Counselors Marital and Family Therapists and Licensed Pastoral Therapists

James A. Hill
Board Administrator
710 James Robertson Parkway
Nashville, TN 37243
(615) 532-3202, x25138
(800) 778-4123, x25138
(615) 532-5369 (Fax)
James.A.Hill@tn.gov

 

Top

Texas

Texas State Board of Examiners of Professional Counselors

Ms. Bobbe Alexander
Administrator
1100 W 49th Street
Austin, TX 78756-3183
(512) 834-6658
(512) 834-6789 (Fax
lpc@dshs.state.tx.us

Top

Utah

Department of Occupational Professional Licensing

Lee Avery
Board Secretary
160 E 300 S Box 146741
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741
(801) 530-6740
(801) 530-6511 (Fax)
lavery@utah.gov

Top

Vermont

Secretary of State’s Office Board of Allied Mental Health Practitioners

Ms. Diane LaFaille
Staff Assistant
 89 Main Street, 3rd Floor
Montpelier, VT 05620-3402
(802) 828-2390
(802) 828-2465 (Fax)
diane.lafaill@state.vt.us

Top

Virginia

Virginia Boards of Counseling

Jaime Hoyle
Acting Executive Director
Department of Health Professions
Perimeter Center
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Richmond, VA 23233
(804) 367-4610
(804) 527-4435 (Fax)
coun@dhp.virginia.gov

Top

Washington

Health Professions Quality Assurance; Washington State Department of Health

Betty Moe
Program Representative
PO Box 47869
Olympia, WA 98504-7869
(360) 236-4923
(360) 236-4909 (Fax)
betty.moe@doh.wa.gov

Top

West Virginia

West Virginia Board of Examiners in Counseling

Roxanne Clay
Executive Director
815 Quarrier Street, Suite 212
Charleston, West Virginia 25301
(304) 558-5494
(800) 520-3852
(304) 558-5496
counselingboard@msn.com

Top

Wisconsin

Wisconsin Department of Regulation Licensing

Dan Williams
Executive Director
PO Box 8935
Madison, WI 53708
(608) 261-7812
(608) 267-0644 (Fax)
dan1.williams@wisconsin.gov

Top

Wyoming

Mental Health Professions Licensure Board

Greg Searls
Executive Director
2100 Capitol Avenue
Room 104
Cheyenne, WY 82002
(307) 777-7788
greg.searls@wyo.gov

 

 

Top